A Multiverse of Waffles…or one can hope

Dark matter1

For those of you following along at home, you will notice the trend of my blog typically starts with the location where I read, followed by my book review. However, this time I was torn. Both the book and the location were fantastic, but the book just outshines everything!

So….Dark Matter…. forgive me while I try to put my brain back in my head, and pick my jaw up off the floor. I don’t even know where to start with how incredible this book is. It’s been some time since I found a book that completely stops me in my tracks.  One that you just stare at the thing for several minutes after finishing it wonder what the hell just happened and how can you make it keep going?! Just when I thought I was getting use to the pace of the book, in came another zinger that sent me reeling. Obviously to say I love this book would be a huge understatement, but the English language has yet to provide a better word.

The story follows Jason Dessen, a quantum physicist who teaches at a local college, as he tries to make his way back to his wife Daniela and their son Charlie. Abducted on his way home one night, his entire existence is thrown into a tailspin. Sounds standard thriller enough, right? Ummm….no! Add in multiverses and you’re a step closer …. and still nowhere near your average abduction novel.

“We’re more than the sum total of our choices, that all the paths we might have taken factor somehow into the math of our identity.”

I try to keep my reviews spoiler free, so it’s hard to give too much detail here without giving away some of the best mind-f**k moments of this book. Let me just focus on the premise for a second.  There are books out there that have presented this idea of multiple parallel universes and some are good; very good even. But none touch this book.  The ideas are well thought out and presented in a way that even if you’re like “no freaking way that’s legit!” you still get so far sucked into the story that it doesn’t matter. You just want to know what happens next. It is a well-balanced sci-fi/thriller/love story.

Did the love story part make you raise an eyebrow there? Because at the core of this book, that’s exactly what this is. Jason Dessen’s sole purpose is to find ‘his’ Daniela. It drives every moment, every decision, every breath the man takes. If only we were all so lucky as to find someone who would scour the multiverses to love us!

Speaking of love………..

Dark matter2For a book this incredible, the location had to be equally so or it would be overshadowed. SO WAFFLES!! My son (because it is unforgivable to have waffles without him) and I met up with my friend Beth at the Minneapolis location at 1500 Como Ave SE.  They also have a location is St. Paul for those of you on that side of the cities!

The place is small, but plenty of tables or bar seating to fit many comfortably. We got there about 8:30 a.m. and found seats easily, but it did start to fill up quick, so I wouldn’t suggest going much later.  The menu has eight specialty waffles and a build-your-own option.  I greatly appreciate a small menu, so I was very happy with only having eight to choose from! I chose the The Muddsucker (powdered sugar, honey, cinnamon, sugar in the raw, and whipped cream), Ben went straight-up waffle with powdered sugar (he is not an adventurous foodie) and Beth had the Naughty Waffle (almond butter, blueberries, strawberries, bananas, granola, and whipped cream).  To say we were in waffle heaven only kind of explains how amazing they were! For our coffees we had cinnamon lattes (mine with two percent; her’s with almond milk).  And can I just say, shout out to the barista guy behind the counter! He put the cinnamon in the bottom of the cup prior to pouring espresso and milk over it which MAKES ALL THE DIFFERENCE! It blends better with the espresso and it doesn’t leave flakes of cinnamon on the top of your drink. BRILLIANT!

Dark matter3

I feel like EVERYONE should be reading this book and EVERYONE should be eating these waffles. As far as the book goes, I will personally give everyone I know a copy for Christmas and/or birthdays for the foreseeable future and you are all welcome! You will not feel the need to re-gift. Scouts honor!! As far waffles…. GO THERE! Soooo good!

I was provided copy of this book from NetGalley and Crown Publishing for an honest review. MANY thanks to them!

For more on Blake Crouch and his books: Blake Crouch website

For more about Dark Matter: GoodReads – Dark Matter ✰✰✰✰✰

Black Coffee and Waffle Bar: WAFFLES! ✰✰✰✰✰

 

10 thoughts on “A Multiverse of Waffles…or one can hope

  1. A great book and waffles, my perfect combo 🙂 I’ve heard of this book, and now I’m really intrigued. Great review! It can be so hard or even impossible to review a book without giving anything away

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

